Interview MAXWANETTE A POETESS – P.L.O.T. S. – CREATIVES MAGAZINEwith its founder, owner, editor-in-chief

“I AM MY MOTHER’S CHILD”
MAXWANETTE A POETESS


Biography


Born in Brooklyn,  NY to Jamaican parents; mother from St. Ann’s in Discovery Bay & father born in St. James,  but raised in Bickersteth, Westmoreland,
Maxine A. Moncrieffe aka Maxwanette A Poetess, shares one of her favorite sayings  “Poetry Is In My DNA,” with her Mother being her 1st introduction to Poetry. Maxwanette went on to further expose herself to Louise Bennett-Coverley, Claude McKay, Maya Angelou, Langston Hughes, James Baldwin, Edgar Allan Poe, Sylvia Plath, Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost, Shakespeare, Rudyard Kipling, Oscar Wilde, Alice Walker, Gwendolyn Brooks, Nikki Giovanni, and so many more.

Maxwanette wrote her first poem, at the age of 5; a Haiku, and she wrote one for her Mother everyday for a month. Thus began her journey with Poetry in hand. It was in the early 1980’s, and by the age of 12, Maxwanette did her first poetry recital (in Brooklyn, NY at The New Muse), received awards & certificates for writing, and accompanied her Mother at recitals, readings, and functions, that included great griots, such as the legendary, Louis Reyes Rivera. Maxwanette states, “When I met Mr. Rivera, I noticed we were around the same height. I wondered about this man, as a child would. But when I heard him recite, I knew then, that I was Poetry & that Poetry was me.”

Considered the Underdog & homeless in Brooklyn, NY by the age of 11; as the struggle her family experienced with the African Diaspora, and leaving the island of Jamaica. Trying to get their footing in America; mental illnesses and abusive experiences, wreaked havoc in her family, and in Maxwanettes life. How could she reach them? How could she change the narrative? She decided, that starting with self & then reaching people through words, were key. No matter the experiences; which changed her, in a myriad of ways, Maxwanette, never stopped writing.

A part of Maxwanette A Poetess’s, life goals are to link Poets, Creatives,  and humanity across the globe by assisting; uplifting, encouraging, spreading love and positivity as much as possible. Why? She states it helps to heal her and others. She considers it a necessity.

Maxwanette A Poetess, is a Kissimmee, Florida resident, licensed business owner: Cyber Clerical Associates,  LLC (formerly P.L.O.T.S.~PROOFING & PROMOTING SERVICES) also located in Kissimmee, Florida (started officially in Dallas, Georgia – 2020) a published poet of, “Poetry, Language Of The SOul, Volume I.”,  & “The Poetic Storm, Volume II,” and republished her mothers book “The Unlimited Mind,” by HyacinthWilliams-Moncrieffe – all books are available on Amazon.com & Poetry Language Of The SOul is also available at Barnes & Noble bookstores. Maxwanette is also an Indie Writer/Self-Publisher – and publishes books through KDP Amazon, and Co-Hosted on “The Real Stuff Podcast,” – affiliate of the solidified  Jamaican online radio station: Reggaenostalgia. View her on their Poetry Corner  Fridays (every Friday which includes One-Shot Poetry). Maxwanette has also formed a connection with The Real Stuff Podcast, that includes {P.L.O.T.S.} – Creatives Magazine & Creatives Bridge – both of which were founded and currently operated by her and her sister, Denise, as a forum for Creatives to be featured.

Maxwanette believes in not only “paying it forward,” in life, but also in shedding a spotlight on CREATIVES, all over the world. In the interim, she tries to be a reminder, that we need one another, as her popular motto & mantra states:

“We’re All In This Thing Called Life, TOGETHER…Remember?”

“Namastè & One Love”

Dear Maxwanette!

I greet you with much love.

Please introduce yourself to the readers!

Greetings All!

Thank you my dear Sister Ilona for having me, in such a beautiful space. It is a pleasure to have you read my words and to connect with my energy. Thank you kindly (BOWING GRACEFULLY). I am Maxwanette A Poetess. A lover of Life, Love, Nature, Humanity, & Prose.

As my bio highlights so much about me, I  can add that I am a helper. I fully enjoy assisting others. This comes with positive  and negative results, but the fulfillment it gives me and others is priceless.

Even as a child you were part of many struggles. How did you overcome them? What made a difference in your life?

Well, I must say, I struggled for what seemed like forever. I was a damaged Soul, had 3 children, damaging them in the process, and had to give them to family, for I was beaten, lost, and wracked with pain & confusion. The journey was not a pleasant one. I tried to do the right things, but always seemed to be punished for it. I couldn’t figure out what I had done to deserve such a horrible existence. I had become down, no longer smiled, and simply didn’t want to live anymore. I was in hell and didn’t know how to get out of it.

One day, while soaking in my own misery, something in me said, “Get Up!” I stripped to my bare skin, sat in front of a floor length mirror and talked to my inner self for hours. One may think I had gone insane, lol! Maybe there was a dance with sanity. But I spoke to my inner child, laughed, cried, yelled, screamed, wailed, told jokes, pointed out flaws, then stopped…I took a real good look at the person looking back at me. I told her, that no matter what, I loved her, and that she could do this. Don’t be afraid of change. Don’t fear stepping out of the furnace of residuals from generational curses…Embrace your you, just as you are…Then I sat the crying & hugging the mirror, lol! That day, my life changed, my mindset changed, I changed.

One of your favorite sayings: “Poetry is in my DNA”. You wrote your first poem when you were five years old, how did your poetic work come to fruition?

My mother Hyacinth Williams-Moncrieffe, was the Creative & Poet in my life, since within her womb. 

Reading fluently at the tender age of 3, gave me a different lust & interest for reading and writing. I happened to come across a Haiku, in an old poetry book my mother had. I became fascinated with it.

My mother was also a major influence, as she was very emotional, theatrical, and powerful reciter & writer of poetry. She encouraged my siblings and I to engage in poetry, creativity,  and the world of arts, Roots, and culture.

What books have you published and where can readers find them?

I am an Indie Writer aka Self-Publisher with Amazon KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing). So, I publish my own books and books of others.

Three books that are my personal ones are:

POETRY IS A FAMILY AFFAIR

“When You Make Your Dreams Reality”

MOTHER & DAUGHTER OF POETRY

Books of Poetry By Maxwanette A Poetess & Her Mother, Hyacinth Williams-Moncrieffe…

NOW AVAILABLE ON AMAZON!!!

“THE UNLIMITED MIND,” by Hyacinth Williams-Moncrieffe (republished by her daughter, Maxwanette A Poetess)

https://a.co/d/bbWqA0L

“Poetry, Language Of The Soul, Volume I.” by Maxwanette A Poetess

https://amzn.to/3J35fKp

Listen to “Too & Fro”, A Poetry Album by Maxwanette A Poetess on #SoundCloud

PLOTS-Creatives Magazine has become known all over the world. When did you establish it? How did it come about?

P.L.O.T.S.-Creatives Magazine, started out as an ordinary blog, in 2017.  The acronym  derived from the title of my first book, Poetry, Language Of The Soul. It featured Poets, Creatives, Arts, Roots, Culture and Positivity. It was simply my way of sharing with the world. It also depicted my P.L.O.T.S. – of uniting the world through Poetry, Creativity, Arts, Roots, & Culture.

Ironically, most of the people featured in the early years of the magazine, were not even aware of its existence. I would be tickled, as many became noticed even more, but were clueless of the level in which I was promoting them. I liked working in secret. It helped to keep the focus on the Creatives and their works. The magazine grew over the years.

Today, it’s something that I am very proud, honored, and happy to be a part of. It has gained popularity and noticeability. We have over 60K viewers and at least 1.1k subscribers/followers, and growing. We have grown to the extent that we happily took on staff.

Who are your helpers? Please introduce the magazine’s editorial team.

Our magazine has an awesome team of Creatives & Poets:

Denise Bryan:

Assistant & Contributor

Elizabeth Esguerra Castillo:

Editor, Contributor, & Magazine Ambassador (Philippines)

Ras Atiba:

Contributor & Magazine Ambassador (Jamaica)

Shahid Abbas:

Contributor & Magazine Ambassador (Pakistan)

Who is the magazine for? Who can participate in it and how?

P.L.O.T.S.-Creatives Magazine, is for EVERYONE! How is this possible? Because everyone has something within them that’s creative, a talent, skill, good at or simply enjoy doing something.

Every 15th of the month, we accept 2-3 submissions. It can be poetry, music, art, a few pages of their books (4-6) for novels & stories, cooking – with signature dishes, videos of recitals/performances/life where they live, links to their works, published books, anything that showcases them. Some may only be able to screenshot something they have written – all we ask is that it’s in print, legible, and in English; we ask that the version of ones native tongue is included, as it’s vital to keep, cherish, and share the language of one’s country.

We ask that submissions be sent on the exact day via:

E-mail: maxapoetess@yahoo.com

Or

WhatsApp Text Messages: +1(321)566-4297

PLOTS-Creatives Magazine Ambassadors represent the magazine in 195+ countries. What does it mean?

The 195+ includes, the 195 countries in the world, plus 3 areas that aren’t technically considered countries.

What this means, is that we seek 1 individual from each country, to not not only be published in the magazine, share and introduce the magazine to the creative and literary world in your country, they also take on the role of finding and sharing the creative works of others in their communities and countries, that some may not have known existed, and those that do. It’s the opportunity to shine a light on the creativity and world of arts in their individual country.

What services does the magazine have?

Other than free publishing & podcast featuring, we have add-on services that have a fee:

I. Event Appearance – Host, Announce, & Perform, at your shows and events:

1. Ras Atiba

2. Antonia Valaire

3. Marcia Jackson

II. Literary Services:

Editing:

1. Elizabeth Esguerra Castillo

2. Maxwanette A Poetess

Publishing with Amazon KDP:

Editing, Proofreading, Manuscript Creating, Bookcovers, and Publishing:

1. Cyber Clerical Associates, LLC  with Maxwanette A Poetess

*III. Writing Poetry Tips  –

w/ Maxwanette-A-Poetess:

1. Meeting; previewing, editing, and  discussing your poetry. 20 minutes (extra time affects fees)

2. How to be more effective in reciting your poetry. 20 minutes (extra time affects fees)

*Must be open to constructive criticism. Don’t take it personally.

**Services & pricing are subject to changes and additions. Please contact each individual,  regarding services & pricing.

We also have 2 clothing-lines dedicated  to Poetry, available for purchase:

Poetry, Language Of The Soul {P.L.O.T.S.} ~ The Creatives Magazine/Bridge:

https://my-store-c6033e.creator-spring.com/listing/the-creatives-magazine-bridg

P.L.O.T.S  – “Poetry Is Life!

https://my-store-c6033e.creator-spring.com/listing/new-p-l-o-t-s

Where to get the magazine. How can I contact you?

We operate an online magazine. This makes it easier to be accessible throughout the world. We can be easily found & contacted:

Website: https://plotscreativesmagazine.com

WhatsApp Number: +1(321)566-4297

E-mail: maxapoetess@yahoo.com

As well as contacting these specific team members on Facebook:

Maxwanette A Poetess

Ras Atiba

Elizabeth Esguerra Castillo

Shahid Abbas

Facebook: Poetry, Language Of The Soul {P.L.O.T.S.} – Creatives Magazine

https://m.facebook.com/397924620592654/

Facebook/Meta Group –  Poetry, Language Of The Soul {P.L.O.T.S.}~CREATIVES BRIDGE

https://m.facebook.com/397924620592654/

{P.L.O.T.S.} ~ CREATIVES BRIDGE & MAGAZINE:

YouTube Channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQH9Ihu38P7VsE-3ABm6mPA

Thank you Ilona for having me. It has been a pleasure. “Namastè & One Love Hungary!”

Thank you very much for the conversation. I wish you continued progress and success.

Ilona Lakatos/Hungary

Hozzászólás